A Simple, Practical Joke


The sweet taste of hesitation

As we kiss;

Temptation dangling

From your lips.

 

I want you to know me,

But can you really know me?

 

Lines cross like paths cross,

Like your arms cross

Against the small of my back.

 

And when you laugh

It’s as if nothing ever hurt

And life was just a simple, practical joke:

Straightforward and amusing–

To be taken lightly like

How you take

My palm in your hand

When you pull me in close to you:

My chest resting and beating against

Your chest.

 

When you turn off the lights

And join me by my side

The world is at rest and we are submerged

Together in a velvety darkness,

Where everything is just a simple, practical joke:

 Straightforward and amusing–

 To be taken lightly like

How you take

My heart in your hand.

 

2 thoughts on “A Simple, Practical Joke

Leave a Comment

