Shapes and Formulas (I Am Not Quite Sure)


Image

And I know you told me that

That’s the way that life goes,

That all roads can be mapped.

 

And I know you told me that people are

absolute shapes,

All clear cut

and decipherable:

The many triangles and circles

And squares of them.

 

For a long time I dissected the shapes and I

Understood their dimensions.

I used your formulas to

Determine the area and the perimeter

And the volume of them all.

 

But I suppose my heart grew weary of

Studying shapes

And looking for the patterns within them.

 

I know that I believed you at one point:

I believed your self-assured soliloquies;

So confident and logical you were.

I believed you with my mind,

Yet, my heart remained unconvinced.

 

Today I am not quite so sure

If that is how life goes

Or if all roads can be mapped.

 

I am not quite sure if I can squeeze all people into

Those predetermined outlines

Of the shapes

Which you treasure so dearly.

 

I am not quite sure I can trust those formulas

that so many sharp minds

Such as yours

Have rendered infallible.

 

I am sure though,

That today,

My heart is smiling.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Comment

