The Joys of Being Alone


 

Have you ever enjoyed being alone? I don’t mean being single in the relationship sense, I mean spending time alone with yourself, going for a solitary walk, reflecting, meditating.

I personally love to be alone, and many people don’t understand this. They ask me, “Why do you like to be alone? Don’t you get bored, or lonely?” And I always answer, “No, I usually don’t.”

Of course I’m not some robot, I have feelings and sometimes I get down like everyone else, but I feel like I’m most calm, relaxed and focused on what’s best for me when I spend time alone. I still love being with my boyfriend and my friends, but I believe spending time alone makes me a better person, because during these silent hours of solitude, I am able to reflect deeply upon myself, my life, and my actions.

Today, I went hiking in the forest and It was amazing. I felt like a little kid again as I lifted my feet along the mossy, fragrant ground. I felt like I could feel the forest smile back at me as my heart became lighter and my mind became clearer with each muddy footstep.

You see, I think that when you are a sensitive person and you are around other people, you often pick up on and absorb their energies. I know that for me, constantly being around others or even one other person really drains my energy levels after a while. I believe that in order to restore a balanced level of energy and inner quietude, that time in solitude is necessary.

I hope that you can take the opportunity to spend some time with just yourself and are able to drink from the fountain of inner tranquility.

4 thoughts on “The Joys of Being Alone

    • Hi John! Thank you so much for your comment. I agree with you, it seems that spending time alone has a negative connotation in our society, and this is very sad to me. Thanks for reading and best wishes to you.

    • Hello bussokuseki! Thank you for your comment. I wholeheartedly agree with you, that alone time is quite precious. I agree, it is good to find a balance between spending time with loved ones and time alone. Best wishes to you on your path to find that balance and thank you for reading.

Leave a Comment

